How much does Chris Christie weigh?

Image

New York Post cover page from August 2012. Image from mediabistro.com.

In a released ABC clip of a Barbara Walters interview with the popular New Jersey governor the discussion turned toward the heavyset 50-year-old’s weight. During the interview, scheduled to air tonight at 9:30 p.m. for Walters’s annual “10 Most Fascinating People of 2012″, the two debate whether Christie’s weight problem could jeopardize his political future:

“There are people who say you couldn’t be president because you’re so heavy.”

“That’s ridiculous. I mean, that’s ridiculous. I don’t know what the basis for that it is.”

“I think think they’re worried about your health.”

“Well I’ve done this job pretty well. I think people watched me for the last number of weeks during Hurricane Sandy doing 18-hour days and getting back up the next day and still being just as effective in the job so i don’t think that will be a problem.”

But the question is how much does the Governor weigh? Since the interview clip was released the mainstream media and the blogosphere has jumped into the discussion with such headlines as: “Chris Christie Should Definitely Not Hire a Personal Trainer“, “Chris Christie: I’m Not Too Fat to Be President“, and “NJ Gov. Christie says weight is no bar to presidency, cites storm response as proof of stamina.”

However, no where in these articles and blog posts does anyone report the Republican governor’s actual weight. No one even raised the question of why such a fact is missing in these reports. Does the governor refuse to release such information? There’s nothing wrong with that; politicians in the past have suppressed personal information for reasons of their own, Christie has the same right. But the does the public have a right to know?

NOTE: Christie didn’t brush-off his weight concerns during a January interview with Oprah Winfrey when he said, “I would love to show these people who say that because I’m overweight that means I’m not disciplined. They think you can get to where I am by being undisciplined? Let me show them,” he said. “But more the guilt that I feel is in regard to my children that I wish that I could get better control of it just for my own health and my own future with them.”

 

About GardenStateGossip

Political Science class of New Jersey City University studying the relationship between media and politics. View all posts by GardenStateGossip

One response to “How much does Chris Christie weigh?

  • Howard Scott Pearlman

    My Guess is that Christie weighs somewhere between 400 and 500 pounds ! Most Sumo wrestlers are less massive than Christie is !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

